2. Regions of Earth Council


The 12 Regions [The 24 Seats of the EC]:

• 1 Russian Federation Seats [2]: Russia, Ukraine, Belarus and Latvia.

• 2 China Asian Seats [2]: China, Mongolia and Taiwan.

• 3 Asian Pacific Seats [2]: Brunei, Cambodia, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar [Burma], Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

• 4 Pacific Seats [2]: Indonesia, Australia, East Timor, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

• 5 North American Seats [2]: Canada and United States of America.

• 6 Caribbean Seat [1]: Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Venezuela and Mexico.

• 7 South American Seats [2]: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname and Uruguay.

• 8 European Seats [3]: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Vatican City.

• 9 North African Seats [2]: Algeria, Libya, Somalia, Morocco, Tunisia, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Togo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger and Nigeria.

• 10 South African Seats [2]: Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

• 11 Middle East Seats [2]: Afghanistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Yemen, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Kazakhstan, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, Armenia, Cyprus, Georgia, United Arab Emirates and Palestine.

• 12 Indus Seats [2]: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Pakistan

The Antarctic is to be governed directly by Earth Council.

All seats are two seats, except for the Caribbean Seat, which is one seat, and the European Seat, which is three seats. The Caribbean delegate will alternate between being a male and a female. European Delegates will alternate between being two males and one female to being two females and one male. Therefore Earth Council will always be 12 females and 12 males.

The determining factors for each Region was a blend of considerations spanning across population, geography, culture, politics, economics and military considerations. We realise you could use any of these considerations to argue for more or less seats for a region yet what is important is that laws are created by the people. These Council Members are only there to administer the peoples will and to mediate issues. The time has come where people from all places on Earth have their voice heard. The rule of law needs to extend from National boundaries to the whole earth. We do not let bullies rule our streets so why do we put up with “Might is Right”on a global level?

The most important fact to remember is power is decentralized so power stays with Sovereigns (People) and Community Councils (Local Governments). Yet now there is also a framework for all the world’s nations to be part of equitable global governance.

There is no doubt, that compared to the current UN, where veto power is held by the US, China, Russia, France and UK, that these Regions are fair and equitable. For instance Africa, one fifth of the world’s population, is now properly represented. In fact, all regions are now well represented.

The inequitable governance structure of the UN needs to evolve so as one human family we can address global issues in a cooperative manner. We are one human community with a common destiny.

And unless we take immediate measures to protect our common interests, our destiny does not look good.

Male and female indigenous persons to have roles as advisors to Earth Council

Indigenous persons hold important information we need to save our wounded planet. It is important the EC hears what these indigenous elders have to say, based on understanding evolved over thousands of years of maintaining a balance with the planet.

Of course, an indigenous person can be a council member if elected via the agreed and legal election process.

We also recommend scientists, religious leaders, economists, the media and others be given the opportunity to address the EC.